Hi, I'm Molly

Status: adopted

About Molly

Hi, my name is Molly and I am a very affectionate, gentle, 65 pound, 6 year old female. Everyone at my foster home is my best friend. I follow them everywhere in the house, I’m just like their shadow. When I’m not following someone around, I like to lay at your feet when you are working at your desk or sitting on the couch. If you sit down beside me, I just might put my head in your lap and look at you with my big brown eyes and nudge you for an ear or tummy rub and then drift off to sleep.

I like to take walks outside in the yard and I also like to play fetch with my favorite orange ball. I know basic obedience commands like “sit,” “down,” and “shake.” I am very good walking on a lead, I rarely tug on the lead, unless I see other dogs.

I’m calm in the house, but if I someone knocks on the door, or I hear the doorbell I will bark to let you know. I have been very friendly with meeting new people when I’m outside. Sometimes I will jump on them to greet them, but I learning that’s not OK. When meeting new people inside the house I’m just a little bit more cautious, it usually takes me a little longer to be friendly.

I’m house-trained and well-behaved in the house, but I’m not crate trained. In the time I’ve been at my foster home I have not tried to climb on any furniture or beds and I have not chewed on anything other than my toys. I also sleep through the night in my dog bed. I might wake up once in a while and nudge you with my muzzle, but I’ll go right back to sleep. 

I will do best in a new home where someone is home most of the day and I’m ok when riding in car.

I’m sharing my foster home with another female DAR&E Doberman. Initially I was not very friendly when she came into the house. It’s taken me about 6 days to warm up to her and be a bit more friendly.

My new home will be my fourth new environment in the last 30 day (original home, veterinarian, foster home and my new home) so I will need at least a few days, maybe a week to begin to feel comfortable.

This is My Story

Molly's owner could no longer care for her and asked DAR&E to find her a new home.


DAR&E only places within the Maryland, DC, West Virginia and Virginia area. Please do no apply to adopt if you live outside of those areas. Please visit our Adoption Process page for additional information on adopting one of our DAR&E Dobermans & an online application!

Our dogs are spayed/neutered, up-to-date on shots and microchipped.

How You Can Help Molly

A Tax deductible sponsorship gifts of any amount are welcome in support of our orphans.

DAR&E Wear

$15

Step 1 on the road to a forever home is a collar and tag. DAR&E dogs always have a home with us. Support a dog on its first steps by sponsoring the purchase of their collar and tag.

SPONSORS

All sponsorship donations are tax deductible and will be used to care for and for medical treatment for dogs in DAR&E’s care. You can sponsor multiple dogs.